President appoints Rajesh Sekhri as Judge of J&K HC

President of India has appointed Senior Judicial Officer Rajesh Sekhri as Additional Judge of the High Court of Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh for a period of two years with effect from the date he assumes charge of his office.
“In exercise of the power conferred by Clause (1) of Article 224 of the Constitution of India, the President appoints Rajesh Sekhri to be an Additional Judge of the High Court of Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh”, read the notification issued by Department of Justice of Union Ministry of Law and Justice.
The proposal for elevation of Rajesh Sekhri, senior most Judicial Officer as Judge in the High Court of Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh was approved by the Supreme Court Collegium in a meeting held on July 14, 2022. Rajesh Sekhri is presently Judicial Member of J&K Special Tribunal, Jammu.
Born in Jammu, Sekhri did Matriculation from S D Sabha Higher Secondary School and Graduation from Government Gandhi Memorial Science College and LLB from University of Jammu in the year 1989. He passed KCS Judicial and joined as Munsiff in 1995. He was promoted as Sub-Judge in 1998 and as District and Sessions Judge in 2008.
He got Selection Grade in 2014 with effect from June 2013 and was placed in Super Time Scale in 2017. He has served as CJM Rajouri and Kargil, Special Judge TADA/POTA Court Srinagar, Additional District Judge Anantnag, Additional District and Sessions Judge Jammu and Principal District Judge Reasi, Ramban and Baramulla. He has also served as Special Judge Anti-Corruption CBI Cases Jammu.
With the appointment of Rajesh Sekhri as Judge of the High Court, the strength of Judges in Common High Court of Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh will increase to 16 including Chief Justice. The sanctioned strength of High Court is 17 of which 13 are Permanent Judges and 4 are Additional Judges. At present, there are 15 Judges including Chief Justice Pankaj Mithal.
The other Judges are Justice Ali Mohammad Magrey, Justice Tashi Rabstan, Justice Sanjeev Kumar Shukla, Justice Sindhu Sharma, Justice Rajnesh Oswal, Justice Vinod Chatterji Koul, Justice Sanjay Dhar, Justice Puneet Gupta, Justice Javed Iqbal Wani, Justice Mohan Lal, Justice Mohd Akram Chowdhary, Justice Rahul Bharti, Justice Moksha Khajuria Kazmi and Justice Wasim Sadiq Nargal.