JKTJAC threatens stir for withdrawal of Govt order on repatriation of ReTs

Serving an ultimatum, Jammu Kashmir Teachers’ Joint Action Committee (JKTJAC) has threatened stir from August 7 if the Government does not withdraw its alleged controversial order on repatriation of ReTs to their original place of posting.
While addressing a press conference, JKTJAC President Vinod Sharma said that there was no mention of term ‘school specific’ in any of the documents of the policy under which Rehbar-e-Talim teachers were appointed and hence the latest Government order on their repatriation to original place of posting was nothing but the harassing attitude of the department towards thousands of ReT teachers.
“Transfer was given by the Government vide order No. 469 Dated 26-06-2014 and the same was uphold by the division bench of the High Court and even the bench of CAT has also supported the transfer policy for these teachers by saying that stagnation decreases the teaching potential of the teachers,” he said.
Vinod Sharma further said that the order of repatriation has been implemented in Jammu Province only whereas in Kashmir division same has not been enforced on the direction of Principal Secretary thereby creating another division among teachers on the basis of division.
“Instead of appreciating the efforts of these ReT teachers who have been working with dedication in rural areas in staff deficient schools, the department often harasses and humiliates them by issuing illogical and irrelevant orders which directly affect the studies of the students,” he said.
Serving an ultimatum of a week’s time to the department, JKTJAC leader announced an indefinite agitation commencing with a protest demonstration on August 7 if the controversial order on repatriation is not withdrawn by the time.
Vinod Sharma also raised other issues of the cadre, such as inclusion of 5 years ReT period for seniority benefits, regularisation of left out ReTs, conversion of regularised RReTs to teachers Grade II/ III, old pension scheme for the employees appointed after 01.01.2010, provision of mutual transfers of 3rd teachers with teachers Grade II, release of MDM dues, conversion of head teachers posts into posts of non plan masters, DPC of teachers as same is pending since 2014 etc.
Before the press conference, an emergency meeting of the JKTJAC was held under the chairmanship of Vinod Sharma, which was attended by Surjit Chib, Rajesh Jamwal, Subash Chander, Sukhdev Singh Sumbria, Lekh Raj Parihar, Ravinder Manhas, Surinder Singh, Manzoor Malik, Asha Rani, Satish Singh, Tarseem Singh, Deep Singh, Bhupinder Gupta and others.