GMC Jammu to organize ISTBI annual national conference from Nov 11-13

Forty-seventh annual National conference of Indian Society of Blood Transfusion Medicine (ISBTI) titled “TRANSCON-2022” is being organized by Department of Blood Transfusion Medicine, Government Medical College (GMC) Jammu and ISBTI UT J&K Chapter with effect from 11th-13th November.

Addressing a curtain raiser conference for the event, Dr Shashi Sudhan Sharma (Principal & Dean, GMC Jammu and patron of the Conference) said that the theme of the Conference is “Trends, Advances and Future Frontiers in Transfusion Medicine” with emphasis on achieving 100% Voluntary Blood Donation in J&K, UT and across the country. More than 700 delegates across the country have got themselves registered for the conference.

She informed that the Conference will be inaugurated on November 11 by Lieutenant Governor of Jammu and Kashmir Manoj Sinha at Hotel Radisson at 9:00 am sharp. She added that Rajeev Rai Bhatnagar (Advisor to LG) and Bhupinder Kumar (Administrative Secretary, Health and Medical Education Department) shall be the guests of honour.

Dr Shashi stated that there shall be three pre- conference wet workshops on different subjects for the post-graduates students and technicians from across the country on 10th of November. “The inaugural ceremony shall be followed by scientific sessions which shall be for three days from 11th to 13th November and experts of National and International repute in the field of Blood Transfusion and Immuno- hemaetology shall enrich the participants with their vast experience during these sessions,” she added.

She said that separate sessions have been planned for this important topic of Voluntary Blood Donation. “Post Graduate students, lab technologists, Residents and Faculty shall have ample opportunities to share their views on various aspects of Blood Transfusion through posters and Oral presentation,” she further added.

The press conference was also attended by Dr TR Raina (organizing chairman) and Dr Meena Sidhu (organizing secretary) of the Conference.